The best birthday surprise!

For my 26th birthday I was given a Singer sewing machine, to my surprise it was a 1408 white. As a beginner this machine makes a great sewing companion, it has an expansive list of features including;

  • 8 Built-In Stitches
  • Automatic 4-Step Buttonhole
  • Heavy Duty Metal Frame
  • Simple Stitch Selection
  • Adjustable Zigzag Width
  • Quick and Easy Threading
  • 4 Snap-On Presser Feet
  • Free Arm with Accessory Storage
  • Extra High Presser Foot Lift
  • Automatic Bobbin Winding

My initial reaction was a nostalgic one, by threading the machine It brought back fond memories of my school days. Nearly 10 years ago I was in a DT class being shown for the first time how to thread a machine and sew in a straight line. I felt an overwhelming sense of achievement just by being able to sew in a straight line. Today I feel the same sense of accomplishment as I prep the machine and turn it on. Functionality wise this machine is easy to set up as it has an easy step by step beginners guide, advantageous for a novice like me. The only qualm I have is with the feeder as it seems to snag a little when sewing small pieces together.

BUEiavjIYAEcdSA

As you can see from this image I have been busy working on my first project, the material which you can see in this picture was bought from an independent seller on ebay- this is a great place to buy pieces of material at great prices for small projects like my beautiful bunting. Hobby Craft is also another favourite of mine as it offers inspiration to those who need help with starting a project, it`s not cheap so I suggest you have a look on ebay first as there are loads of arts and crafts goodies online.

Leave a Reply

